Gentrification: It’s Always the Others’ Fault

Basic MBTI
4 min readDec 1, 2023

I have this friend who likes to complain about gentrification in places like Spain. The catch: just like me, she lives in a place flooded by digital nomads, being a digital nomad herself.

The contrast of gentrified places [Image by Author & DALL-E 3]

I’ve heard people complain about gentrification so many times. Knowing that I contribute to it in some way, I mostly prefer to keep quiet.

I’m currently living on an island. It’s operated by locals. Many of them work in the hotel industry, and in other jobs that aren’t commonly well-paid.

I’ve moved here from Berlin (Germany), to escape the ever-present tristesse of a big dirty city, winter and loneliness, and I found happiness.

Ironically enough, Berlin itself has been subject to gentrification for years, if not decades.

Areas formerly inhabited by artists, punks and other less wealthy individuals are now full of well-off South Germans (well, at least according to the common stereotype).

And these Germans are turning the area into… Well, South Germany.

Ok, maybe I’m exaggerating a bit, but you get the drift.

[Image by Author & DALL-E 3]

What Is Gentrification?

--

--